Fast growing authoritative information portal in Africa,

Top 10 Smallest States In Nigeria

Nigeria consists of 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory. While some states are small, others are about 20 times as big as the small states. In this article, we’ll look at the top 10 smallest states in Nigeria, excluding the FCT. 

1. Lagos 

Lagos is a Nigerian state in the country’s southwestern geopolitical zone. With a population of nearly 15 million people, it is the smallest of Nigeria’s 36 states in terms of territory. Lagos State is Nigeria’s most economically important state, since it contains Lagos, the country’s largest city. 

It is a significant financial center that, if it were a nation, would have Africa’s fifth-largest economy. The financial hub of the city, Victoria Island, is known for its beach resorts, shops, and nightlife. The National Museum Lagos, located on Lagos Island to the north, houses cultural items and handicrafts.

2. Anambra 

Located in the country’s southeastern area, Anambra is the second smallest state with an area of 4,844 kilometers square. It has a population of about 33 million people and was formed in 1976 from the previous East Central State. 

Awka, the state capital, is a fast developing metropolis with a population that grew from 300,000 to 2.5 million people between 2006 and 2018. The old port city of Onitsha, which dates back to the pre-colonial era, is still an important commercial hub in the state.

3. Imo

Imo State is located between the lower Niger River and the upper and middle Imo River, and is ranked 34th out of 36 states in terms of area. This makes it the third smallest state in Nigeria.

Imo State is bordered on the east by Abia State, on the west by Delta State, on the north by Anambra State, and on the south by Rivers State. It was formed in 1976 when it separated from the previous East-Central State. Owerri, the state capital, is commonly referred to as Nigeria’s entertainment capital.

4. Ebonyi 

Ebonyi was one of the six states established in 1996 by General Sani Abacha’s federal military administration. The state has thirteen local government areas and several local development centers. It is located in southern Nigeria with Abakaliki serving as the capital and major city.

The enormous salt deposits in the Okposi and Uburu Salt Lakes have earned Ebonyi the slogan “the salt of the nation.” Some of the state’s most popular tourism attractions are Abakaliki Green Lake, Uburu Salt Lake, Unwana, and Ikwo Beaches. 

5. Abia 

Abia State measures just 6,320 kilometers square. However, it’s not one to be underrated. It is one of the Niger Delta region’s member states. It’s also the country’s 5th most industrialized state, with the 4th highest human development index, thanks to a plethora of economic activity and rapidly expanding populations. 

This was reported by the United Nations in early 2018. In addition, the state is home to Nigeria’s largest livestock market. The Imo and Aba Rivers, which run into the Atlantic Ocean through Akwa Ibom State, are the most important rivers in Abia State.

6. Ekiti 

Ekiti State is located in Nigeria’s southwest area and was established on October 1, 1996 by the administration of General Sani Abacha. It was created out of the territory of old Ondo State and encompasses the previous 12 local government districts that made up the Ekiti Zone of old Ondo State. 

It is one of the newest states in the Nigerian federation and the 6th smallest with a 6,353 kilometer square area. The majority of the state is highland, reaching above 250 meters above sea level. It is situated on top of metamorphic rock. 

7. Akwa Ibom 

Akwa Ibom has a 7,081 kilometer square size. The state lies in the South-South geopolitical zone, with Cross River State to the east, Rivers and Abia States to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean and the southernmost part of Cross River State to the south.

With a population of over five million people in 2016, Akwa Ibom is very populous. Uyo, the state capital, has a population of about 500,000 people. Ibrahim Babangida formed the state on September 23, 1987, from the previous Cross River State, and it is now the country’s biggest oil and gas producer

8. Enugu 

Enugu State is a state in Nigeria’s eastern region and measures 7,161 kilometer square. The state is located at the foot of the Udi Plateau. Enugu is bordered on the south by Abia and Imo States, on the east by Ebonyi State, on the northeast by Benue State, on the northwest by Kogi State, and on the west by Anambra State. 

Enugu city, the capital of Enugu State, is located 150 miles south-southwest of Port Harcourt, and at the crossroads of routes from Aba, Onitsha, and Abakaliki.

9. Osun 

Osun is a Nigerian inland state in the southwest. Osogbo is the capital. Kwara State borders it on the north, Ekiti State on the east, Ondo State on the west, Ogun State on the south, and Oyo State on the west. 

On August 27, 1991, a portion of the ancient Oyo State was combined to form the present state of Osun. The name of the state comes from the River Osun, a sacred natural spring and manifestation of the Yoruba Oshun deity.

10. Bayelsa 

At number 10, we have another southern state, Bayelsa. Bayelsa is a Nigerian state in the south, at the heart of the Niger Delta. Bayelsa State was created from Rivers State in 1996, making it one of Nigeria’s newest states. 

The state’s name, Bayelsa, is derived from the first few letters of the state’s three principal local government areas: Brass LGA (BALGA), Yenagoa LGA (YELGA), and Sagbama LGA (SALGA). Bayelsa measures 10,773 kilometer square. 

Bottom Line

Listed above are the top 10 smallest states in Nigeria. This list excludes the FCT, Abuja 7,315. If the FCT were to make this list, it’ll be at number 9.