Fast growing authoritative information portal in Africa,

Names of Nigeria Senate Presidents Since 1999

In 199, Nigeria made the switch from military rule to civilian rule for the second time, ushering in the fourth republic. Since then, the country has remained as a democratic state with a functioning National Assembly amongst other governmental bodies. 

Since 1999 till date, 8 Nigerians have led the upper chamber of the National Assembly, The Senate, as president. Do you want to know who they are? Find out their names below. 

Evan Enwerem, 1999   

Evan Enwerem was Nigeria’s Senate President at the start of the fourth republic. He was a PDP member and represented the Imo-East Senatorial Zone. Evan only served as senate president for about 6 months. He had the backing of Nigeria’s newly elected president, Olusegun Obasanjo, and won his opponent with a difference of over 40 votes.

Evan had to leave the office after a few months following alleged corruption investigations. Mainly, it was about his name. He was removed and succeeded by his opponent during the senatorial election. Evan still served in the National Assembly as a senator; he left office in 2003. 

Chuba Okadigbo, 1999–2000

Chuba Okadigbo contested with Evan Enwerem in the 1999 senate election. Although he lost, he would go on to become the senate president after Evan was removed following corruption allegations. The senator who represented Anambra north senatorial district also didn’t last long as president. 

He became president in November 1999 and was removed in 2000 as he too was charged with corruption. Chuba who was with the People’s Democratic Movement (PDM) switched to the All Nigeria Peoples Party in 2003 and ran as Vice President alongside Buhari for the presidential elections. They lost the election to PDP’s Obasanjo. 

Anyim Pius Anyim, 2000-2003

Anyim Prius Anyim is one of the most popular senate presidents in Nigerian history. He joined the senate in 1999 and took over from Chuba Okadigbo as president in 2000. He would stay in office until 2003. Anyim is popular for his many fights and tackles with then Ebonyi State Governor, Samuel Ominyi Egwu. 

He also had encounters with Senator Arthur Nzeribe of Imo State and the Independent Corruption Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC). During the 2003 elections, he didn’t contest to be re-elected. After leaving the senate, he served as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) from 2011 to 2015. 

Adolphus Wabara, 2003–2005

Politician and Businessman, Adolphus Wabara lost the senate president election in 2003 but became president following a court appeal. He took over from Anyim Pius Anyim and occupied the seat until 2005, without completing his term. 

Troubles for Adolphus began in 2004 after the senate and the president, Olusegun Obasanjo, moved to investigate his finances. He was accused of awarding contracts with senate approval. In 2005, he resigned as senate president following fresh financial fraud allegations. He was charged to court but all charges against him were dropped in 2010. 

Ken Nnamani, 2005–2007

Representaing Enugu East Senatorial District, Ken Nnamani became Nigeria’s senate president in 2005; he joined the senate in 2003. Ken, who was with PDP, was senate president until 2007. Ken Nnamani will be represented as the Senate President that stopped the rumoured third-term agenda of Olusegun Obasanjo

However, Ken stepped down as Senate President in 2007 just after the presidential elections. According to him, he was ordered to step down by Chimaroke Nnamani, the then Enugu State Governor, for Ekweremadu. Ekweremadu went on to become the Vice President under David Mark. 

David Mark, 2007–2015

David Mark was the first Nigerian Senate President since 1999 to complete his four years tenure and also win a second tenure. He won the senate presidential elections in 2007 and was re-elected in 2011. He left the office in 2015 after eight years. He’s the longest serving Nigerian senate president till date. 

Before becoming Senate President, David served as the Governor of Niger State from 1989 to 1990 and then as Senator for Benue South Zone from May 1999 to May 2019. The PDP man is known for leading the review of the Nigerian Constitution and also passing the prohibition of same-sex marriage bill. 

Bukola Saraki, 2015–2019

Bukola Saraki was Governor of Kwara State from 2003 to 2011. He became a senator in 2011 and subsequently became the Senate President in 2015. During the election, he main opposition was Ahmed Lawan who would later succeed him. Saraki’s victory resulted from an alliance between APC and PDP senators. 

Saraki’s main focus as senate president was liberating victims of insurgency by the Boko Haram sect in north-eastern Nigeria. His administration passed the highest number of bills, 201, in Nigeria’s history. He was also the first Nigerian senate president to be issued with arrest warrants. 

Ahmed Lawan, 2019 till date 

Current sitting Nigerian Senate President, Ahmed Lawan won the presidential election with a landslide victory. He had earlier served as Senate Majority Leader from 2017 to 2019. He also served as Member of the House of Representatives for Bade/Jakusko from 1999 to 2007. 

Like most previous Senate Presidents, Ahmed Lawan has had his own share of corruption cases and allegations. Notably, he was accused of collecting bribes along with some other legislators after passing the Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB). 

Bottom Line 

There you go. I’ve listed out the names of Nigeria Senate Presidents’ since 1999. The current senate president is expected to re-run for the presidential seat during the 2023 elections with all things remaining normal. This is his first tenure and he’s entitled to a second tenure.