Fast growing authoritative information portal in Africa,

3SC, Remo Stars, Niger Tornadoes, and Gombe United Climb to NPFL

The quartet of Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC), Remo Stars, Niger Tornadoes, and Gombe United have been promoted to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL). Oluyole Warriors and Sky Blues Stars have also made it to the elite division, Goal reported.

The promoted teams secured their wins to the top-tier division at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium in Enugu during the recently concluded Nigeria National League Super Eight competition.

Gov. Seyi Makinde of Oyo State expressed joy at seeing 3SC clinch the position, giving that the team had suffered dragging defeats and relegation in recent years. Speaking through his press secretary, the governor expressed satisfaction that the team can now compete at the state and national levels following the remodelling of the Lekan Salami Sports Complex in Adamasingba, Ibadan.

“We are sincerely happy to see our darling team, 3SC back where it belongs; the Nigerian Premier Football League,” he said. “I rejoice with the good people of Oyo State on this wonderful achievement by our darling team and especially the return of good football to Ibadan. Surely, the government of Oyo State will ensure that the players and technical crew are rewarded for bringing us this joyful moment.”

Former international stars such as the late Rasheed Yekini, Segun Odegbami, Ajibade Babalade, Mutiu Adepoju, and Felix Owolabi among others rose from the 3SC in its hey days. The team won four Nigerian FA Cup titles in the past and also won the CAF Confederation Cup in 1976 and was runner-up in the CAF Champions League of 1984 and 1996.

At the Nigeria National League Super Eight competition, Niger Tornadoes and Gombe United as well as DMD FC and El Kanemi Warriors were in the Group A division. But Tornadoes and Gombe topped the group. In the Group B were 3SC, Remo Stars, Bendel Insurance and Ekiti United; but 3SC and Remo topped the group.

The four winners in both groups will replace Golden Stars of Jigawa, Warri Wolves, Ifeanyi Ubah United, and Adamawa United that got relegated in the qualifying series.